headspace welcomes new Board of Directors

headspace, the National Youth Mental Health Foundation has today announced its new Board of Directors, with five, new women members.

Board Interim Chair Ian Marshman and former Australian of the year, Professor Patrick McGorry AO, will remain on the seven-member board.

They will be joined by Annette Carruthers, Gabrielle Curtin, Anne Murphy Cruise, Katina Law and Lisa Bjorksten.

Mr Marshman said the appointments displayed a progressive and sector-leading approach by headspace to Board gender equality.

“These five women who all share a passion for youth mental health and service innovation, bring to the board an extraordinary range of expertise and depth of experience.”

“I am proud to be able to welcome them onto the headspace Board. The headspace team is excited about the work that is ahead, as headspace services continue to expand nationally and the number of centres delivering services for young people reaches 100.”

Changes to the Board of Directors follow the adoption of a new headspace constitution and governance model developed in consultation with the Australian Government.

Brief bio details of the five new directors follow:

Anne Murphy Cruise
A former language teacher at a number of Victorian senior schools, Ms Murphy Cruise was admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor to the Supreme Court of Victoria in 2000. She is a lead equity and markets lawyer in the banking sector, specializing in corporate and capital market transactions. She is also involved in sector mentoring and diversity programs.

Dr Annette Carruthers
Dr Carruthers has had a diverse and successful career in the health industry across a number of clinical and preventative areas in both the private and public sector. A former director of the National Heart Foundation in NSW, she is also an experienced non-executive director in financial services and infrastructure, health and aged care, including a current board member of Multiple Sclerosis Australia.

Gabrielle Curtin
Ms Curtin is an experienced senior executive, currently responsible for Safety, People and Services with Snowy Hydro Limited, and with previous executive experience at Qantas and Shell Australia. She has far-reaching board experience across education and business and currently sits on the Qantas Foundation Board. Ms Curtin has a personal connection and lifelong interest in mental health.

Katina Law
Raised in the Kimberley region of WA, Ms Law is currently managing director of Indigenous Professional Services. She has worked extensively in executive roles across the mining sector in Australia, Asia, Africa, the UK and the United States. She has wide-ranging board experience, has mentored Indigenous business people to increase participation in the mainstream economy and is passionate about improving the lives of Indigenous people.

Lisa Bjorksten
Ms Bjorksten currently runs digital for one of Australia's leading content marketing agencies, and most recently launched digital start-ups in New York. Her previous roles include production and editorial leadership positions with Yahoo7, ninemsn and News Corp. She has a deep passion for leadership and mentoring others.

For further information, contact:

Michael Bennett
Media and Communications Manager
0413 025 385