headspace welcomes funding to reduce wait times in headspace centres

Lisa Paul


headspace National Youth Mental Health Foundation welcomes the funding from the Federal Government to reduce wait times in headspace centres at locations right across Australia.

The $24.2 million granted to headspace is part of the Demand Management and Enhancement Program - an investment of $152 million over seven years from 2018-19 by the Federal Government to reduce wait times at headspace services.

Forty-five headspace centres across Australia will receive the funding, distributed by Primary Health Networks (PHNs) in NSW, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and ACT.

headspace National will also receive funding to support the effective roll out of the headspace Demand Management and Enhancement Program across the headspace network.

The funding is aimed to increase access to vital services for young people right across Australia to ensure they can get support when they need it.

Jason Trethowan CEO of headspace said of the announcement, “Supporting our young people through this period of uncertainty and into the future is critically important. By providing increased access to mental health support, young Australians will be in a better position to develop the skills they need to get through tough times, and know there’s support when and if they need it.

“At headspace we encourage any young person, parent, or family and friend to reach out for support if they need help getting through a tough time. Combined with a sharp rise in access to headspace online services, this funding will strengthen many centres to support young people in their local communities.

“We look forward to working with the Primary Health Networks and headspace centres across Australia on ensuring young people can access help when they need it,” said Mr Trethowan.

headspace services to receive funding as part of this announcement:


headspace service


Bankstown, Bondi Junction, Camperdown, Dubbo, Griffith, Hurstville, Lismore, Lithgow, Liverpool, Maitland, Miranda, Nowra, Orange, Penrith, Port Macquarie, Queanbeyan, Tamworth, Tweed Heads, Wagga Wagga, Wollongong    


Albury-Wodonga, Bairnsdale, Bendigo, Geelong, Greensborough, Shepparton, Werribee, Wonthaggi   


Bundaberg, Capalaba, Hervey Bay, Inala, Maroochydore, Nundah, Rockhampton, Southport, Townsville, Warwick


Berri, Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge and Port Augusta


Hobart and Launceston




For further information about the funding announced by the Federal Government, please visit:






For media enquiries please contact:

headspace Media & Communications: media@headspace.org.au