The headspace Board

Mr Ian Marshman (Board Chair)

  • Board member since 5 June 2009
  • BA (Honours), LLB
  • Senior Advisor at the University of Melbourne and from 1999 to July 2015, he was the Senior Vice-Principal at the University of Melbourne. In this role he was accountable to the Vice-Chancellor and Council for the overall management and administration of the University. Ian had specific responsibilities for major projects and facilities planning, audit, compliance and external reporting accountabilities.
  • Ian's career began as an Administrator in the Australian Public Service in Canberra. He has held senior positions in health at Commonwealth and State Government levels.
  • He was Chair of the Management Committee for Victorian Tertiary Admissions Centre for 15 years until 2014.
  • Ian is a current member of the Melbourne Theatre Company Board and a Director of the Melbourne Dental Clinic and Uniseed Ltd. He has previously served on the boards of several health services agencies. He is also Director of a number of University boards.

Professor Patrick McGorry AO

  • Board member since 5 June 2009.
  • AO, MD, BS, PhD, FRCP, FRANZCP, Australian of the Year 2010.
  • Patrick is Executive Director of Orygen Youth Health and Professor of Youth Mental Health at the University of Melbourne. He is a world-leading researcher in the area of early psychosis and youth mental health. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the Wiley journal "Early Intervention in Psychiatry".
  • Patrick has also played a major role in mental health reform in Australia and many other countries. He led the successful consortium bid to the Department of Health and Ageing, on behalf of Orygen, University of Melbourne, APS and BMRI/University of Sydney, to design and implement headspace from 2006-2009, prior to it forming an independent company in 2009. Patrick is President of the Society for Mental Health Research 2013-2015; acting Chair of the Steering Committee of the International Association for Youth Mental Health. He is a former Director of Headstrong, Ireland's National Youth Mental Health Foundation; past-president and treasurer of the International Early Psychosis Association; a former member of the National Mental Health Advisory Committee; and a former member of the Victorian Government's Mental Health Reform Council.

Ms Anne Murphy Cruise

  • Board member since 30 August 2016.
  • LLB (Honours), MA (Honours), Dip. Ed (Honours), BA (Honours), admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Victoria.
  • Anne is a senior lawyer at Macquarie Capital, specialising in equity capital markets transactions.  Prior to this Anne was in private practice and has extensive experience in corporate governance, legal compliance and general corporate matters.
  • Before commencing her career in the law, Anne was a foreign language teacher at a number of Victorian senior schools, teaching French and German.
  • Anne is also involved in sector mentoring across various age groups and divisions at Macquarie and participates in the diversity program and the promotion of young women in the workforce.

Dr Annette Carruthers

  • Board member since 30 August 2016.
  • MBBS (Honours), FRACGP, FAICD, GradDipAppFin, TAASFA.
  • Annette has had a diverse and successful career in the health industry across a number of clinical and preventative areas in both the private and public sector.
  • Annette is an experienced non-executive director in financial services and infrastructure, health and aged care.
  • She is a current board member of Multiple Sclerosis Australia and Cater Care Pty Ltd and is a former director of nib Holdings and National Heart Foundation in NSW.
  • Annette’s passion is for the provision of high-quality health care that meets the needs of the community.

Ms Gabrielle Curtin

  • Board member since 30 August 2016.
  • Gabrielle is an experienced senior executive, currently responsible for Safety, People and Services with Snowy Hydro Limited.
  • Previous senior executive positions held at Qantas and Shell Australia.
  • Gabrielle’s far-reaching board experience covers education and business.  She is chair of Winifred West Schools and currently sits on the Qantas Foundation Board, whose vision is to create life-changing experiences for the next generation of Australians.  
  • Gabrielle has a personal connection and lifelong interest in mental health.  She is a mentor to many young women and was previously a long-serving mentor in the UNSW Lucy Mentoring program.

Ms Katina Law

  • Board member since 30 August 2016.
  • B Com, CPA, MBA, GAICD.
  • Raised in the Kimberley region of WA, Katina is currently managing director of Indigenous Professional Services, providing services to business and government in a wide range of areas including human resources, performance auditing, change management and financial management.
  • Katina has worked extensively in executive roles across the mining sector in Australia, Asia, Africa, the UK and the United States.
  • Katina has wide-ranging board experience working extensively with both large and small companies.
  • Katina has mentored Indigenous business people to increase participation in the mainstream economy and is passionate about improving the lives of Indigenous people.

Ms Lisa Bjorksten

  • Board member since 30 August 2016.
  • MFA, BA.
  • Lisa is a digital specialist and currently runs digital for one of Australia's leading content marketing agencies.  She has extensive experience in executing successful strategies across complex business units in the digital space.
  • Lisa also has deep global experience across multiple technical developments and all digital platforms.
  • Most recently, Lisa successfully launched digital start-ups in New York.
  • Her previous roles include production and editorial leadership positions with Yahoo7, ninemsn and News Corp.
  • She has a deep passion for leadership and mentoring others