headspace welcomes funding to boost services

headspace National Youth Mental Health Foundation welcomes funding from the Federal Government to reduce wait times in headspace centres at locations across Australia.

The $26 million directed to headspace is part of the Demand Management and Enhancement Program - an investment of $152 million over seven years from 2018-19 by the Federal Government to reduce wait times at headspace services.

Forty headspace centres across Australia will receive the funding, distributed by Primary Health Networks (PHNs) in NSW, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Northern Territory.  

The funding is aimed to expand access to vital services for young people so they can get support when they need it.

headspace CEO Jason Trethowan said, “The last year has been incredibly challenging for many young people and their families. Young people experienced disruptions to work, study, their home life, and the way they connect with loved ones. Once more, this has occurred at critical transition periods in their lives and without their usual support structures.

“It’s encouraging so many young people are reaching out for help, and it’s vital known and trusted services such as headspace can continue to provide support to young people when they need it.

“We thank the Federal Government for their continued support and their ongoing recognition of wait times as a major issue impacting mental health services.  

“We look forward to working with Primary Health Networks and headspace centres to work through these new developments,” said Mr Trethowan.

headspace sites to receive funding as part of this announcement:

State / Territory headspace Service
New South Wales Bathurst, Brookvale, Chatswood, Coffs Harbour, Dubbo, Grafton, Hurstville, Katoomba, Orange, Penrith.
Victoria Ballarat, Bendigo, Bentleigh, Collingwood, Dandenong, Frankston, Glenroy, Mildura, Narre Warren, Shepparton, Sunshine, Swan Hill, Warrnambool.
Queensland Caboolture, Cairns, Toowoomba, Taringa, Woolloongabba.
South Australia Adelaide, Berri, Edinburgh North, Marion, Mount Barker, Onkaparinga, Port Adelaide, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln, Victor Harbor.
Western Australia Albany
Northern Territory Darwin