headspace welcomes funding boost to improve access and reduce wait times

headspace National Youth Mental Health Foundation welcomes funding from the Federal Government to reduce wait times and bolster the workforce at headspace centres across Australia.

The $44 million for headspace centres is part of the headspace Demand Management and Enhancement Program - an investment of $152 million over seven years from 2018-19 by successive Federal Governments to boost services and facilities at headspace.

Fifty-seven headspace centres across Australia will receive the funding, to be distributed by Primary Health Networks (PHNs) in NSW, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania.  

The funding is aimed to expand access to vital services for young people so they can get support when and where they need it most.

headspace CEO Jason Trethowan welcomed the funding, saying it would help headspace respond to a continued increase in demand for youth mental health services.

“The past two years have been especially challenging for young people, whose lives have been disproportionately impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic,” Mr Trethowan said.

“We also know young people’s mental health has also been impacted by natural disasters, including flood, bushfire and drought.

“Never before have headspace services been more in need than they are today.   

“It’s encouraging to see so many young Australians reaching out for help, and it’s vital that known and trusted services such as headspace can continue to provide support to young people when they need it.

“We thank the Minister for Health and Aged Care Mark Butler and Assistant Minister for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Emma McBride for the Federal Government’s significant commitment to headspace, and their recognition of wait times as a major issue impacting young people when reaching out for support.”

The headspace sites which will receive funding as part of this announcement are listed below:


headspace Service

New South Wales

Ashfield, Bankstown, Batemans Bay, Bega, Campbelltown, Camperdown, Chatswood, Dubbo, Grafton, Griffith, Hurstville, Katoomba, Lismore, Lithgow, Liverpool, Miranda, Port Macquarie, Tamworth, Tweed Heads, Wagga Wagga.


Bairnsdale, Bendigo, Bentleigh/Elsternwick, Dandenong, Frankston, Geelong, Knox, Narre Warren, Pakenham, Werribee.


Gladstone, Inala, Ipswich, Mackay, Maroochydore, Meadowbrook (including Beaudesert satellite), Nundah, Redcliffe, Strathpine, Toowoomba, Taringa, Woolloongabba.

South Australia

Berri, Marion, Murray Bridge, Onkaparinga, Victor Harbor, Whyalla

Western Australia

Bunbury, Fremantle, Geraldton, Mandurah, Midland, Osborne Park, Rockingham


Devonport (including Burnie satellite), Hobart  


Government media release: https://emmamcbride.com.au/media-releases/media-releases/44-million-for-headspace-services