Enhancing Mental Health Support in Schools (EMHSS)


The Victorian Department of Education and Training has engaged headspace to deliver counselling support to secondary students in Victorian government schools. The counselling support is designed to increase the availability of mental health support for students, improve mental health outcomes for students and assist students in finding the right support. The Enhancing Mental Health Support in Schools (EMHSS) program provides mental health services to all 327 government secondary schools across Victoria.

Who can refer a student under the EMHSS program?

Staff at all Victorian state secondary schools can refer young people to headspace Hawthorn under the EMHSS program. Non-government schools and primary schools are not included in the EMHSS program.

How to make a referral?

To refer a student to headspace Hawthorn under the EMHSS program, please complete the Online Referral Form and select 'Student'. Once this has been submitted, an intake team member will contact you within 1-2 business days.

Alternatively, you can download a copy of the EMHSS Consent Form by clicking here